Eat it Raw

You hear a lot about current diet fads. Or as Wikipedia puts it, “food faddism- The phrases food faddism and fad diet originally referred to idiosyncratic diets and eating patterns that promote short-term weight loss, usually with no concern for long-term weight maintenance, and enjoy temporary popularity.”

I am not about fad diets that will burn you out quickly. I believe in changing your lifestyle, not just your diet. I’ve always been mindful of the food I put in my body. I would limit the fried food, fast food and soda. What I wasn’t doing was adding in more good stuff in place of the junk. The past two weeks I decided to try to eat only raw foods for breakfast and lunch (WebMD explains a lot of health benefits to a raw diet here), no red meat Monday through Friday, and meatless Monday dinners (okay, I aim for Monday because it rhymes, but sometimes it doesn’t happen until Friday. I never claimed to be that organized in meal planning!) Thanks to Pinterest it was actually really easy to find healthy and delicious recipes.

We have lived in the San Joaquin Valley for five months now. If you’ve never been to this part of California, let me enlighten you… during the summer I’d compare the weather to be something like the hottest day in Hell.

 photo

Sometimes it is hard for me to find an appetite first thing in the morning (when they say your metabolism is at its best) so I started making smoothies. They’re refreshing, quick and easy. When you have two preschoolers on summer break, you’re all about quick and easy. Especially, when it’s something they will enjoy and it’s a way to get their fruits and veggies in without them actually knowing. I will share one of my favorite smoothie recipes… but first, let me tell you why we live in the devil’s paradise.

My husband has been in the Army for eight years now. We met in Florida where we were both born and raised and have since had duty stations in Colorado Springs, CO, Durham, NC and now Clovis, CA. Luckily, I’m a rolling stone. If you were to ask me where I’d build my dream home and retire, I’d tell you I haven’t found that place yet. I’m confident by the time we reach 20 years I’ll at least have a better idea.

It’s funny how different lifestyles and cuisine differ state by state. Seafood and comfort food in Florida, Mexican and organic meats in Colorado, BBQ and craft beer in North Carolina, and here in California there’s authentic Mexican and the best farmer’s markets. The cheap, fresh produce is part of what inspired me to eat more raw fruits and vegetables.

In the two weeks that I’ve changed up our menu, I have been able to wake up earlier and earlier each day and with more energy. I’m the farthest thing from a morning person. Ask any member of my family. Growing up my dad used to turn on my bedroom light, drag my covers to the floor and put my fan on blast just to get me out of bed for school. My husband may have had to do the same thing on occasion… but who’s counting? In addition to waking up bright eyed and bushy tailed, I’ve noticed I’m not bloated all the time anymore. But if you want to hear my biggest selling point on our new healthy lifestyle… my husband likes it! Unless you know him this probably isn’t telling you much. Let me fill you in, this man would eat a hamburger and fries for every meal if he had his way. Speaking of burgers, my favorite turkey burger recipe is coming soon so stay tuned! But for now, here’s a yummy smoothie to hold you over.

Smoothie:

1 cup orange juice*

1/2 a banana

1 cup mango (frozen)

1/4 cup blueberries (frozen)

1/4 raspberries (frozen)

1 cup spinach

1 tsp flax seed**

Blend for about 1 minute.

photo 1 photo 3 photo 4

And share some with your mini me.

*Always pour your liquid in first. Makes for easier blending.

** Flaxseed has many health benefits according to WebMD:

  • Omega-3 essential fatty acids, “good” fats that have been shown to have heart-healthy effects. Each tablespoon of ground flaxseed contains about 1.8 grams of plant omega-3s.
  • Lignans, which have both plant estrogen and antioxidant qualities. Flaxseed contains 75 to 800 times more lignans than other plant foods.
  • Fiber. Flaxseed contains both the soluble and insoluble types.

Additionally, you can use more or less of any of the ingredients. I found that these portions made for a good balance between sweet and acidic. Enjoy!

Categories: healthy eating | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

