birds before beefs

I promised the most delicious turkey burgers and I’m here to deliver. Let me start by saying I’ve never been a fan of ground beef. There’s nothing worse than taking a bite of meat and chomping down on a mysterious hard thing. Gristle, they call it. Which is also known as cartilage. [Insert gag here.]

So, for the first 18 years of my life I didn’t eat hamburgers. Then college happened and I was too broke to afford much outside of Ramen noodles and, on the occasion I treated myself, a .99¢ hamburger. Because I am an overachiever, I surpassed the “freshmen 15” and went all the way up to the freshmen 25ish. I reverted to my old ways and quit hamburgers again. I would have much rather quit mystery meat than dollar beers on Wednesday nights. Who’s with me?

Anyway, at some point while living in Colorado I jumped back on the beef wagon and had an occasional hamburger… usually from my favorite place, Ted’s Montana Grill. That was probably six years ago and I’ve yet to find a burger as delicious. (If you’re able to make it to a Ted’s the “kitchen sink” is a life changer.) Did I mention there was never a gristly bite? Unfortunately, now we live where there are no Ted’s so I decided to take my friend Juli’s advice and cook up some spicy chipotle turkey burgers. My husband was extremely skeptical, as was I. Turns out they’re amazing! He wouldn’t go so far as to replace beef burgers with turkey burgers (as I have) but he suggests them for our weekly menu often.

Without further ado, I have tweaked Allrecipes.com spicy chipotle turkey burger.

I do 2 pounds of turkey because it makes 6 hearty sized burgers and they’re really good leftover. One pound would make 4 decent sized burgers.

2 lbs ground turkey
1 cup finely chopped red onion
1/4 cup fresh chopped cilantro
2 chipotle chilies in adobo sauce, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tsp onion powder
2 tsp seasoned salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 handfuls of breadcrumbs (bc I find the texture to be slimy otherwise)
Garnish with tomato, onion, lettuce and fresh mozzarella slices
Buns of choice, though I prefer these toasted on the grill:
20140729-204406-74646164.jpg

And because I’m all about having colorful plates,  I made sweet potato fries and sauteed zucchini for sides.

photo 1 photo 2

20140729-204637-74797740.jpg

 

And if you need to switch it up with leftovers or your kids don’t really do hamburgers, you can boil up some noodles and throw in some sauce,  leftover hamburger and zucchini and call it spaghetti and meatballs!

photo

Enjoy! I’m off to my son’s first ever soccer practice and then squeezing in some yoga.

Categories: healthy eating | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “birds before beefs

  1. Britt

    I made for dinner tonight and It was delicious! Followed recipe exactly. Beef loving husband said “this is really good”! Will make again for sure. Maybe as sliders too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

