Let’s talk about boobs

Yes, boobs. I feel like there is a lot of emphasis put on boobs in our country. For those of you who have not experienced the wonderful “boobs after babies” phase, let me enlighten you, they are nonexistent. Naturally, I had a pretty big problem with this change that wasn’t reversing itself any time soon… or ever for that matter. I researched plastic surgeons hoping a stack of money would land on my doorstep to pay for a breast augmentation. I bought ridiculous Victoria Secret push-up bras that could break someone’s rib should you hug too tight and even experimented with turtle necks. I was always worrying about not having enough cleavage to wear low-cut shirts. My overpriced (and underachieving) bras would hollow out as if I were five again wearing my sister’s 38DD bra waiting to be stuff with socks. I was so self conscious I didn’t even want my husband to acknowledge my boobs. Of course he’d tell me I’m beautiful in every way and he wouldn’t change a thing but I kept feeling like I needed change to make me happy. To make me love myself.

Then I found yoga. I went from NEEDING a boob job to questioning if I would actually follow through if I had the opportunity. The deeper I dove into yoga, the clearer it became. I started living in sports bras… which make me resemble something of a ten year old. But, for the first time, I was comfortable in both my clothes and my skin. My confidence was growing. Not because my chest could make heads turn but instead because I felt myself becoming stronger, more flexible. I was physically, mentally and emotionally challenging myself and seeing real life results, instant gratification that was building from within. I have since accepted my flaws and imperfections because I’m stuck with them and they’re stuck with me!

Yesterday, my husband sent me this picture and I laughed so hard. YES!!Image

I had this epiphany. Instead of feeling sorry for my sorry boobies, I’m realizing I appreciate them. Lord knows I would not be able to do half of the yoga poses I do with big tots in my face. It may be a different kind of beauty but yoga can be so beautiful. I’d rather someone appreciate the shapes I make than the shelf my boobs make. So, here’s to a lifetime with my low fat ladies. May every woman feel beautiful in her skin just the way God made her.

Image

Categories: yoga | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Let’s talk about boobs

  1. I’m sure your boobies are great! As we go through life our bodies change – it’s just the ebb and flow of things. I’m glad you are finding a way to love the skin you’re in 🙂

    Like

  2. Anne

    Omg. This. Exactly.

    I’ve always been super conscious of my body. Then I started doing yoga for myself… connecting movements with my breath, taking slight modifications that I felt like my body was asking of me, and most of all – not watching/judging myself or others in the mirror. And then one day in a warm yoga class, I decided I wasn’t going to worry about others judging me, and I took off my shirt to practice in my sports bra (with my small boobs and not-so-small tummy). And then… the girl next to me took off her shirt too! I think we were all just waiting for someone to be brave first. It made me wonder if maybe she was just as conscious of her body as I was of mine.

    I still have moments during the day wishing I looked like this or that… so it’s still a work-in-progress. But yoga has really become the hour that I’m able to love myself, grateful for my body and for my strength, with minimal negative thoughts about flaws. And when I think about it, I’m proud that I don’t judge my OWN fat rolls when we’re doing a twist to the side, or something. We are our own worst critics, so self love starts from within.

    Also, you are so beautiful and I’m also happy you’re learning to love your body!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

