“Better than Olive Garden” Minestrone Soup

To be completely honest I’ve never had minestrone soup from Olive Garden. I’m all about that zuppa toscana. BUT since I’m on this whole meatless journey… minestrone it is. And I’m not complaining. I love veggies. In fact, if I could get my hands on an imitation garden vegetable soup recipe from Panera, it’d be an amazing day. (I’ve looked… didn’t find one that sounded quite right. But it’s been a while. Will search again.) Anyway, I can neither confirm nor deny whether or not this minestrone soup recipe is in fact better than Olive Garden’s. But I will say it was pretty tasty. It made a humongous amount of soup and to be frank, I was sick of it before the leftovers ran out. I’d advise either inviting friends or family over to help eat it or cut the recipe in half.

So here’s my crock pot ready to rumble (pre veggie stock. And beans, zucchini and pasta. They come later.)

IMG_5160

You’ve got your tomatoes and paste, onion, celery, carrots, fresh garlic and rosemary, some seasonings and pesto. I sort of strayed from the recipe on the pesto. It called for sun-dried tomato pesto and 1. I didn’t have time for making it homemade and 2. not even sure it’s a real life thing sold in stores. I intended on buying basil pesto and learned upon starting my soup I actually bought basil-kale pesto. It was delicious. Used leftovers on pasta.

And the finished product… drum roll please…

IMG_5168

On a scale of inedible to 10… I give it a 7. It was good but to me not fulfilling enough to be the main entree. But that’s just my personal preference. I like options with my meals. If I were to make it again, it would be a side.

Husband ate it but did not rave or eat it again leftover. So consider that his rating.

Enjoy, folks!

Categories: healthy eating, vegetarian journey | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on ““Better than Olive Garden” Minestrone Soup

  1. YUM! looks delicious 🙂
    http://www.fortheloveofblonde.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

