Tex Mex Turkey Burgers

I took a hiatus from blogging my food adventures over the holidays but the kids are back in school tomorrow and I’m back to business! And I’m ringing in the new year with a banging recipe you’re going to love… It’s not vegetarian but I don’t care. It’s SO good!

I call them, Tex Mex Turkey Burgers. These burgers were inspired by laughing spatula’s chicken avocado burger recipe. Which is also paleo. Thumbs up. I found their recipe sounded a little bland so I made a few changes starting with the chicken… I bought turkey. But only because I couldn’t find organic ground chicken. I followed the recipe’s directions for one avocado, a jalapeno (seeds  and ribs removed), salt, pepper, panko and doubled the garlic. I also added a couple tablespoons of fresh chopped cilantro, 1/2 teaspoon-ish of cumin, and 1/4 teaspoon-ish of onion powder.

My man threw the patties on the grill with swiss cheese while I made fresh green beans and garlic Parmesan sweet potato fries to accompany our burgers. We strayed from the paleo path and put our burgers on buns with your usual toppings… lettuce, tomato, red onion and mayo. Hot sauce would probably be a great condiment too.

They were delicious. That’s all you need to know. So much flavor with the avocado and cilantro. And the crunch of the fresh jalapeno gave it excellent texture. These are a must make. So just do it. Enjoy!

FullSizeRender

Categories: healthy eating, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

